Click to enlarge

To sign up for this event please contact the Germantown Fire Department via email at or via phone at 262-502-4701 x 1701

All Payments can be mailed to the Germantown Fire Department at:

Germantown Fire Department

C/O Leadership 2017

N115W18752 Edison Dr.

Germantown, WI 53022

The Instructors

Chief Alam Brunacini

Alan V. Brunacini

Alan Brunacini joined the Phoenix Fire Department in 1958. He served in every department position.  He was promoted to Fire Chief in 1978 and retired in 2006.  He is a graduate of the Fire Protection Technology program at Oklahoma State University.  He has a BS and an MPA from Arizona State University.  He is the past Chairman of the Board of the National Fire Protection Association and the N.F.P.A. Fire Service Occupational Safety Committee (standard 1500).  He is the immediate past Chairman of the N.F.P.A. Career Fire Service Career Organization and Deployment Committee (standard 1710). He and his two-firefighter sons currently own and operate the local command level Blue Card hazard zone management program.  They also present workshops, seminars and conferences to many fire departments throughout the country on various topics.  He is the author of Fire Command, Command Safety, Timeless Tactical Truths, Essentials of Fire Department Customer Service and The Anatomy and Physiology of Leadership. He is currently working of several other fire service books.  He and his sons also own and operate the quarterly hazard zone magazine the B-Shifter

Chief Larry Schultz

Larry Schulz
Lawrence Schultz has 35 plus years’ experience as a firefighter and currently serves as the Assistant Chief of Operations with the City of Alexandria Virginia Fire Department. He is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the 300-person department.
Prior to that he spent 26 years with the Washington DC Fire Department, serving at every operational rank, spending his last four years as the Assistant Fire Chief of Operations. In this position he was responsible for the day-to-day operations of the 2200-person department.
Chief Schultz received an A.A. degree in Fire Science from Columbia Southern University, a graduate of the George Washington University Center for Excellence in Municipal Management Program, attended the National War College to study consequence management of military support to civil authorities and is a graduate of the Naval Post Graduate School’s Executive Leadership in Homeland Security Program.

Chief Dennis Rubin

Dennis Rubin
Dennis L. Rubin was first appointed as a Fire chief in December of 1996. Chief Rubin’s experience spans more than 35 years. He has served as a line firefighter, company officer, command officer, and as Chief of the Department for both the City of Atlanta and Washington D.C.
Rubin is the author of several emergency service textbooks. His first release is entitled Rube’s Rules for Survival. This book is a collection of case studies dealing with the important topic of fire fighter safety. The next book that Rubin released was Rube’s Rules for Leadership. The Chief discusses his 13 core values and describes how each can be applied to improve one’s personal leadership capabilities. Chief Rubin’s third book, DC FIRE was released at the Fire Department Instructors Conference (FDIC) by Fire Engineering Books. Finally, Chief Rubin is nearing completion of his fourth textbook It’s Always About Leadership.

Chief Jim Anderson, MD

James J. Augustine

James J Augustine, M.D., FACEP is an emergency physician, and is a
Clinical Professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine at Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio. He serves a Medical Director role with Fire Rescue agencies in Atlanta, Georgia, in Naples, Florida, and in Dayton, Ohio. His roles include the Hartsfield Jackson Atlanta International Airport Fire Rescue division. He served as Assistant Fire Chief and Medical Director for the District of Columbia Fire EMS Department. Dr. Augustine has served with fire EMS agencies for 35 years. He received his fire training in the Dayton area, and became an EMT shortly thereafter. He was the first Chair of the Ohio EMS Board.